2019 Ohio Beef Expo Youth Judging Contest Winners

The Ohio Beef Expo’s judging contest was held on Youth Day, sponsored by the Gallia County Cattlemen’s Association and the Fayette County Cattle Feeders, at the Ohio Expo Center in Columbus, Ohio on March 15. More than 560 youth participated in the contest, hosted by the Ohio Cattlemen’s Association (OCA) and The Ohio State University Extension. 2019 marked record participation in the judging contest.

Participants evaluated live cattle classes and were required to answer questions regarding those classes. Participants were divided into junior and senior divisions. Complete results from the contest can be found at www.ohiobeefexpo.com.

This contest would not have been possible without the valued donations of contest sponsors; A lunch for the participants was prepared by the Wood County Beef Producers, who also donated the burgers.

The top ten individuals in the junior division were:

  1. Samantha VanVorhis, Wood County
  2. Alexis Perry, Wood County
  3. Jaycee Yelton, Champaign County
  4. Hudson Drake, Ross County
  5. Walker Wiley, Morrow County
  6. Karly Goetz, Wood County
  7. Kari Carter, Marion County
  8. Sydney Schneder, Clinton County
  9. Dawson Staley, Richland County
  10. Makayla Crawford, Richland County

The top ten individuals in the senior division were:

  1. Caroline Bensman, Warren County
  2. Kylie McWhinney, Champaign County
  3. Taylor Cluxton, Adams County
  4. Ellie Kidwell, Coshocton County
  5. Ann Marie Nietz, Wood County
  6. Beau Johnson, Gallia County
  7. Alyssa Carter, Warren County
  8. Colleen Minges, Butler County
  9. Lexi Knopp, Jackson County
  10. Carson Shafer, Preble County

High team placings for the junior division were as follows:

2. Wood County B, Team Members: Samantha VanVorhis, Karly Goetz, Ethan Davis and Grant Belleville
3. Wood County E, Team Members: Alexis Perry, Luke Perry, Riley Burtchin and Brooke Simon
5. Yochums, Team Members: Sydney Shelton, Emma Yochum, Wyatt Osborn and Connor Yochum

High team placings for the senior division were as follows:

2. Norwayne FFA, Team Members: Kendra Marty, Emily Croft, Libby Grossniklaus and Tim Gunkelman
3. Preble Co. Judging Team, Team Members: Carson Shafer, Mackenzie Neal, Cheyenne Baker and Skyler Ward
5. Gallipolis FFA Team A, Team Members: Beau Johnson, Bryce Hines, Cody Brumfield and Erin Pope
1. Clearfork JV, Team Members: Dawson Staley, Makayla Crawford, Luke Raudebaugh and Caroline Tilton
4. Highlanders, Team Members: Hudson Drake, Sydney Sanders, Carly Sanders and Ross Michael
1. Warren A Team, Team Members: Caroline Bensman, Alyssa Carter and Logan Heitzman
4. Talawanda FFA Blue, Team Members: Colleen Minges, Michael Scwab, Peyton Weikley and Dalton Schlichter

Posted: March 19, 2019